Hit the Ground…

You know how the rest of the saying goes, I’m sure. Let me bring you up to speed on that subject of running.

I ended 2015 on a really gentle note. After the LV mara I took almost a month off and turned my attention to more pressing matters like the holidays (Thanksgiving was the following week) and my health (I got really sick a week after the mara). I finished December with a smattering of small runs (all on the treadmill and all runs under two miles at a time). It felt good to be okay with that. I didn’t even run the Jingle.

January. A new year with new expectations (some of them great, I might add). I registered for a really cool run for NEXT December. Yes, you read that right. December 2016. It’s a charity run in Maine, I’ll tell you more about that later. I am registered for my love, St Pat’s 10k. I also registered for…wait for it…Big Lake! The quick and dirty on this run (skip it if you know it): The year is 2005 and I am most definitely NOT a runner. In fact, I abhor the activity and cannot for a single second imagine how anyone could run a solitary mile, least of all me. And yet! Yet I find myself in late December signing up for a half marathon for the Lymphoma & Leukemia Society’s Team in Training in Alton Bay, New Hampshire. How I got sucked into that, I’ll never know. I had four months to figure out how to run 13.1 miles. 13.1 (!) when I couldn’t run 13.1 yards without gasping for breath. Fast forward three months: March. I’ve hurt my knee to the point of tsk-tsk from my physical therapist. He wants me to bow out. I don’t. May 2006. In the pouring rain I “run” the race (breaking down at mile ten to perform this horrible walk-run-hobble thing for the last three miles) and am told by my physical therapist to “take up swimming” because as a runner, tsk-tsk, my days are done.
Ten years later in the pouring rain I “run” a marathon (breaking down at mile 23 to perform this horrible walk-run-hobble thing for the last three miles) and am told by me & myself we need to rerun Alton Bay. It has bothered me (all these years) that I couldn’t run the whole thing. How many times have you heard me say that? So. It’s time. Redemption time.
So, yesterday I registered for Alton Bay’s Big Lake run. Race coordinators via email tell me, “You’re in!” as way of confirmation. I’m in. It’s official. May 7th, 2016. Maybe it will be pouring rain. I certainly hope so.

One last thought. Someone special said he can’t run but he can root. Root as in root me on. Maybe he’ll be there?

Categories: Confessional, life, running | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

