Left of Normal

Lately all I’ve been doing is writing about running. Blah blah blah. I’m a scarred record with the hiccup of “the run, the run, the run” and now it’s making even me a little weary. So, for something a little different, here are some mini rants:

FRUSTRATION

I sit on a committee. I sit on a lot of those things, but there is this one committee that is driving me nuts. The very name of the committee indicates the membership has one focus and one focus only. Pretend it’s the cafeteria committee. As a member of the cafeteria committee you would know your charge is…well…all about the cafeteria, right? You would expect other cafeteria committee members to know whether or not said cafeteria has….say…forks. Right? So, why was it such a snide remark when I suggested committee X members take a tour of X before our next meeting? Maybe because some members have been on this committee for over ten years and still have never seen the second floor? I bang my head against the wall every time I see committee X on my calendar.

LOVE

Yesterday I said goodbye to one of my oldest friends. We didn’t keep in touch daily, weekly or even monthly. We had that relationship – you know the kind – when you can go for a very long time without speaking and one day pick up right where you last left off. One laugh together and we don’t skip a beat; we’re right back into the mischief of being fourteen again. The last time we were physically together we were elbow to elbow in a dive bar, laughing about the old days. There was nothing left to do but laugh. Yesterday, I was in that same dive bar just before her funeral. It was with a shock that I realized it was the place we had our last unknown hello and goodbye. What would we have said differently had we known? In reality, I’m glad we didn’t. We went our separate ways; drifting off into the cool September night still giggling from girlhood memories. I will remember her that way. Always.

ACCEPTANCE

I saw a mother-daughter blog this morning that prompted a rant. The mother is a public figure and very protective of her daughter’s image. The daughter is rarely seen in public and is never referred to by first name. Fans don’t even know how to pronounce her name because, despite seeing it in print, they have never heard it pronounced. By anyone.
So, needless to say it was a pleasant surprise to see mother and daughter together in a website portrait within this blog. A stunning black and white. But, it wasn’t long before rabid fans glommed onto it and the comments started to scroll. Here’s what drives me nuts. People who don’t think. Comments like, “why is her daughter dressed like an old maid” and “why the school marm outfit, mom?” are truly vile and unnecessary. This child is only twelve years old. Who cares how she is dressed? She doesn’t earn her living in the public eye. There is a reason why parents keep their children hidden. How do you explain to an intelligent, worldly, sophisticated little girl that the world is in an uproar over something as trivial as her choice of clothes?

Categories: Confessional, Librarianship, life | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Left of Normal

  1. Ah! That’s quite a read! 😁
    Happy to connect! 💕

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

