The Run of None

If you have been keeping up with us you will know that me and moi were worried about this Sunday’s 6K. Not worried in the fuel, attire, pace, or injury sense, but in the ocrap I don’t want to run with anyone worry. In a sea of feet all I want to do is pay attention to my own.

The night before the race I wasn’t thinking about food. There was none of that I Need To Carb-Load nonsense. A last minute invitation to Korean BBQ found me inhaling extremely delicious stone pot Bibim Bap and kimchi dumplings and laughing with great friends.
The night before the race I wasn’t standing before my closet agonizing over the perfect running outfit. Believe it or not, most of my clothing is on a cycle. I rotate my shoes taking the guess work out of which ones to wear next; my bras are sorted according to mileage (under and over 10K – I call it the chafe threshold); my pants are either long or medium; my shirts are either sleeve or no sleeve. The only real pondering I did was on the morning of the race…when I found out about the weather. Because of the heat (a rumored 80+ degrees at start time) I swapped out capris for shorts (a real first for me) and changed my mind about thicker socks. No brainer.
The day of the race I wasn’t trying to calculate pace. For the simple sake of finding each other my husband and I agreed to meet at a birch tree 45 minutes later. I knew that I wanted to my legs to churn a 10.5 min/mile pace and finish around 40. But, with the heat and hills I couldn’t be sure. 45 just seemed like a better number. Just in case.
The day of the race I didn’t think about tight hips, wonky ankles or whispering knees. The previous three runs were short (2.35, 2.94 and an even 3), but they were strong and relatively without complaint from anyone. I knew 3.75 wasn’t going to be much different.

No, if you know me you know the biggest worry for myself and moi was about having to run this race with someone else. Side by side with someone either much faster or just too slow. In truth, I was worried about ending up running someone else’s race just because I was too polite to be alone. I don’t know how to tell people I am a selfish runner. In the end I worried for nothing. With a smile I was set free to find my own pace.

Here’s the damage: Bib#629 46 F 35:10 9:26/M

Categories: Confessional, running | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “The Run of None

  1. lloydsloops

    the whispering knees of whispering sands

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

