Grounded

Just last night I complained to Kisa, I’m grounded. I’m more than grinding to a halt. Actually I’ve stopped. Completely. The cool thing is he comprehended my code. Translation: I haven’t run in almost two weeks and I don’t plan to for another three. It sucks. Instead I’m walking. Five miles a day until 5/29/15.

At first I thought this would kill me – this no-running- but-walking thing. Instead, I’m grounded in a good way and getting moreso every single day. I have decided to spin this suspension into a positive; using the time away from the run to concentrate on physical therapy, strength training and yoga. Imagine that.

I’ve spent a lot of time talking about what it means to return to the run. I’ve spent even more time babbling about how great it is this time around. What I haven’t really paid homage to is the reason why I am stronger, why all of this is working. It’s not that I take physical therapy for granted. It’s just that it’s the silent partner in this deal I made with me & myself. I have come to terms with the fact that I am broken and every time I do something that reminds me of that I need to counteract. Sounds defensive, right? Well. It is. I react to throwing my hips and knees and ankles out of alignment by doing the PT and yoga in the hopes I’ll correct the problem (however temporarily). But, what about being proactive and doing the program before the pain even starts? This is all new to me.

So, I’m off the run. I’m grounded. But, I’m okay with that.

There is one other way that I’m hoping to become more grounded – by flying. A few years ago I became afraid to fly. Some would say it borders on aviophobia. I went from being an excited passenger; someone who couldn’t wait to get above the clouds, to clutching armrests, scrutinizing fellow passengers and ranting about aviary obstacles. I have an opportunity to get over it this weekend. We shall see. More later.

Categories: Confessional, running | Tags: , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

