Mums Was It

I only told two people because I didn’t want to jinx myself or the plan. I told the two people who would lock and key the secret without lecture, smug disregard or worse, sarcastic eye rolling. I have been training. For what, I do not know. Stupid? Not sure. Fun, yes. I started last month. Missed the first week but after that only skipped one run. The grand totals for January ended up being 36.1 miles total with 5.45 being my longest. February is looking like a monster: 35.65 miles thus far with 8.02 being the longest. Have I skipped a run yet? Yes, just one and only because I had a date.  So there you have it. It’s out. I have a training plan. It’s intense. Running four times a week (tempo, hills, speed & distance) all for the sake of je ne sais pas. I don’t have a clue. I haven’t signed up for a race. Not a one. Not even St. Pat’s which is odd because I’ve run that one twice, getting stronger each time. I’d like to put my new-found hips to the test on that bad boy’s hill…I think.

From here on out, it’s journal time. It’s time I tackled the other demons on my back. I need to head to Jersey in less than a month, board a plane in nearly ninety days, submerge myself in a crowd half a year from now. Time to work out the wreck. Time to cry and slobber and bitch and moan. All the things I do so well.

Categories: Confessional, running | Tags: , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Mums Was It

  1. 🙂 love love love this ❤

    • Look at all that love…just in time for V’day. I knew you like this 😉 xoxo

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

