No Ono

reel

Day three. All Day fishing. The day started at 3am. For a split second I didn’t know where I was or what I was doing up at such an unusual hour for someone long past college. Then I remembered. Oahu. Vacation. Fishing. deep sea fishing no less.
Contrary to popular belief I have never been deep sea fishing. Yes, I lived on an island an hour out to sea and yes, I have been fishing before. But, living on an island and fishing out of sight of any land are two totally different things.
We started out trip under the spell of a nearly full moon and a harbor full of lights. A quick tutorial on how to reel in “the big one” and then we were off. Right away I knew this trip would be heaven and hell for more on board than just me. My brother-in-law turned green about the gills 15 minutes from shore. While he got seasick I turned to the sea and got homesick. This may sound a little Shel Silverstein but it’s true. In the dark all waves roll the same. In the dark all oceans smell the same. Atlantic or Pacific. Oceans one and all are the same in the dark. Kisa looked at me with a sad smile that said “I knew this would happen.”
But, as day broke around us the sun revealed a difference I had never known before. The Pacific Ocean is a stunning cobalt blue, so blue it mesmerized me. I’m used to a green so dark it looks black.
I also learned a valuable lesson about being out on the ocean for ten hours: the sea, “mother, mother ocean” as Jimmy Buffett would say, is a cradle. I was lulled to sleep more times than I could count. The fact I got up at an ungodly hour coupled with nowhere to stand at the stern of the boat forced me to sit on a sagging couch and nod off when I wasn’t in the hot seat.
The hot seat. How can I describe this? You sit in the fighting chair and literally battle with a fish when you have one on the line. The adrenaline is pumping. The crew is shouting. Your mind is racing. Kisa is taking in other lines. Unseen hands are guiding the chair towards your prey. It’s intense. My catch was a mahimahi. Papa was hoping for an Ono but no Ono. One tiny tuna and we each caught mahi…everyone except the seasick guy in the back!
before the catch

Categories: Confessional, life | Tags: , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “No Ono

  1. Great photography! Thanks for sharing.

  2. sarahwrites2

    i fear i’d be the sea sick one šŸ˜› love reading about the trip

    • I am a seasoned ocean rider but even I felt the occasional equilibrium cartwheel after ten hours!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

