Something about a Dirty Window

Sunday isn’t readily considered a good night for going out on the town. School night, work night, whatever night. Excuses, excuses. As someone very important to me once said, “if you want it bad enough or if it is important enough to you, you will make it happen.” Too true. Despite being a work night I made going out to see Rebecca Correia open for Natasha Bedingfield a priority.

A group of us started the evening with a leisurely barbecue. Marinated chicken, shrimp and flank steak fresh off the grill. Steamed asparagus. Roasted summer squash, red onions, and green peppers. Mixed green salad. Piping hot baked potatoes. Cool and crisp Pinot. Strawberry shortcake for dessert. Laughter and raised drinks. Hanging out as the evening air cooled. Then it was time to make our way to Pearl Street.

Dark, dirty, gritty, graffiti-ed Pearl Street. Memories flood me. While I miss those drunken, back-bending over the bar days I can’t imagine doing any of that now. As my feet stick to the beer splashed floor I’m seeing another life on the faces of strangers. This is back where another time all began. I met another him here. I start to fear I will never be that free again. That crazy. A friend points out how the bathroom stalls don’t have locks. They never have and I’m remembering a time when that didn’t matter. Standing in the basement gloom I feel like I had returned to Brigadoon, just waiting for the music to start. Wanting something special to happen. then it happened: Someone offered me a chair. Guess my age is starting to show. Brigadoon faded and reality set in.
I’ll be honest. I didn’t know much about Natasha Bedingfield or her music before Sunday night. I knew she sang an inspirational song, something about releasing inhibitions…something about a dirty window. Seriously. That’s it. Let’s face it, I was there for Rebecca. I’m biased. However, Natasha rocked! She had stage presence, a wicked sense of humor and lungs! I liked her so much I garnered a new song for the ipod – ‘Single.’ Love it.

But, back to Rebecca. She added drums for the night! Hot drums. They added something a little different to the show. Something I didn’t expect. It was cool. Probably my favorite song of the night was a new one, ‘Adonis.’ Something about it reminded me of someone in 33596. Made me feel like calling, but I didn’t. I think the thought was enough.

Finally it was time for Kisa to take my hand and lead me out of the basement of memories. As we made our way out into the cool night air I decided I like my life as it is right now. I could wish for no other with complete sincerity. I’m not 26. I’m okay with that.

 

Categories: Confessional, life, music | Tags: , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Something about a Dirty Window

  1. Ruby Tues

    I want to have the kind of life that will give me good stories to tell when I am 90. So far, so good. 🙂

  2. Right there with you…hey wait! Most of my stories are about YOU! LOL

  3. Ruby Tues

    You will forever be my favorite partner in crime 🙂

  4. Is that a good thing? heehee!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

