Last to Know

If this isn’t an argument to be on FaceBook more often I don’t know what is.

I hadn’t always been a fan of competition shows. Hokey. Staged. Corny. Rigged. Predetermined. Fake. I even went so far as to call them Stupid, I think. Then, I got hooked on The Biggest Loser. The contestants inspired me, their stories moved me. I think I skipped one season when the game play become more prominent than the weight loss. [When you can “buy” a 2 lb advantage at the weigh-in who are you kidding? Really.] But, I’m watching this year (Go Olivia!)
Then, I discovered SYTYCD. Better known as So You Think You Can Dance. Again, I found inspiration (not that I can dance, mind you).

Little by little, contest after contest I was starting to give competition shows a chance. I even watched the grand finale of American Idol with my mom last year. When The Voice started to get promotion time I thought it would be an interesting addition to my dvr schedule. Kisa set up the recording schedule and I promptly forgot all about it. Until this weekend.

Javier Colon is a contestant on the Voice. Here are the two degrees of separation between Javier and myself. Javier and Rebecca Correia both went the Hartt School of Music. Rebecca is a friend of mine. While watching Javier’s introduction his name didn’t register with me. Only when he opened his month to sing did mine drop open in amazement. I turned to Kisa, “THE Javier?” Yes. “Rebecca’s Javier?!” Yes. “Rebecca’s?!” Yes! Suddenly, this voice thing was taking on a whole new perspective. THE Javier Colon.

The thing is, I probably would have known this months ago had I been talking to Rebecca on FaceBook. If I stalked the friends of friends pages like so many others I know I would have been in the know. But, because I don’t, and I won’t, I’m the last to know.

Categories: Confessional, music | Tags: , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Last to Know

  1. Ruby Tues

    And yet being the last to know did not take away from your surprise or joy when you connected the dots, did it? 🙂

  2. sarah

    Thought you knew. Oops!

  3. Ruby~ You are SO right! The more I think about it, the more I prefer the surprise I got while watching it. It was definitely more fun than knowing ahead of time (especially since I can’t watch it when it airs).

    ps~ congrats on the addition to the fam! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

