Rev the Engines

Someone once said to me “your life is a continual exorcism.” And after the conversation I had today, I believe it as truth. I will never be free from the phantasms, real and imagined. The demons still lurk, the phone still rings. The ones who haunt me the hardest are the ones who love me the most. How bizarre.

But, that doesn’t stop me from wanting to do things differently. Speak a little louder. Carry a smaller grudge. Is it possible? I’m wanting to learn from my mistakes, especially the ones I haven’t made yet. They are there, waiting for me. Tapping their toes with impatience. I’m sure of it. Maybe I know how to confront failure.

Tomorrow I want to find a way to rev the engines in my life. Rattle the cages. Hibernation is well over. Maybe I want to dye my head red. Maybe I want to throw out 96 items of crap. Maybe I want fukc me ferragamos. Maybe I need a new tattoo. My thumb ring of nearly thirteen years finally fell off. Maybe I should get a new ring…for my nose. Maybe I thumb my nose and get one, oh so daring,  for somewhere else. Maybe I should go for a long, crazy run with Kings of Leon screaming between my ears. Maybe I take a swig of gin and let the chips fall where they may. Maybe I need to find that King of May. Maybe.

All I know is that I’m tired of being your blame game. I’m tired of having this tug of war with the right thing to say at the wrong time. Maybe it’s time for me to say the completely wrong thing at precisely the right time. Maybe that time is now.

Categories: Confessional, life | Tags: , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Rev the Engines

  1. Ruby Tues

    There is something very freeing about shutting off all of the internal filters and just saying what you think. It can be good for the people around you to hear exactly what it is that you are thinking, in all of its glorious brutal raw honesty. Go on girl … just turn off the filters and allow yourself to be that free … for a change 🙂

  2. This is so timely! Wait until Tuesday…

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

