Farm Frenzy

It suddenly occurred to me that I haven’t talked about the CSA all that much all summer. I highly doubt it is from embarrassment over the amount of salsa I have been gormandizing. There is nothing wrong with being greedy when it comes to tomatillos or tomatoes. We have decided our favorite is a roasted salsa verde sauce with tart tomatillos, vibrant chopped cilantro, mild green olive oil, lime juice, roasted garlic and crunchy jalapeno. Seriously. I’ve been having fun experimenting with the different types of salsa I can conjure up, but the real first-time-ever-moment came when I decided to make four different kinds of tomato sauce to freeze for winter. There is something about being able to open up the freezer and relive the warmer months through food. Good, good food. A few years ago my sister and I went blueberry picking. While I only came away with two quarts Kisa and I were able to make them last all winter. Somehow we missed the harvest this year…

So back to the sauces. Four sauces. Plain, hearty, spicy, and roasted. The plain was…well, plain. Heirloom tomatoes, basil, flat leaf parsley, salt and pepper. Simple and very much to the point. Hearty was a bonanza of veggies: carrots, onions, garlic, celery, basil, oregano, thyme, and of course, tomatoes. Spicy was farm fresh jalapenos whirled into a roasted mess of plum tomatoes. Roasted was all of the above packed away in a 425 degree oven for 35 minutes with olive oil, rosemary, fresh ground pepper and a coarse sprinkling of sea salt. With the addition of a wood stove I think this will be one cozy winter.

Fennel. Funky, funny fennel. Last night I roasted a pork loin with fennel, carrots, onions and garlic in a white wine. rosemary and butter sauce. It was awesome. I love fact that every vegetable came from the farm (including the rosemary). Hell, I picked the rosemary myself!

Edamame. The crop seemed to wither on the vine this week so I wasn’t able to pick a lot. With the handful I was able to score I steamed them and tossed it into a mega salad over the weekend. Yummy.

Watermelon. I am not a big fan of eating watermelon sliced. It’s messy and seed-spitting. This year I came up with a simple dessert to stave off the sweltering heat  – freezer cubes. Using the food processor I chopped all the melon into slush, strained out the seeds and pulp, added agave nectar and a little lemon juice, poured everything into cups and froze the whole mess in icecube trays. Kisa added the watermelon cubes to water while outside painting but at night we would blend the cubes into slushies similar to italian ices. Yummy. If we were more of a cocktail crowd I bet they would have been good additions to a Cosmopolitan. Or something.

Categories: life | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

