You Have No Idea

You think you know, but you have no idea. You don’t know squat. These are the phrases that keep coming back to me. It’s a reoccurring theme as of late.

Remember Mr. BTK – Bind.Torture.Kill. The guy who taunted police and his community for eternity with his evil ways? Turned out he was Mr. GuyNextDoor, Mr. ChurchGoingGuy. The guy you would never point a finger at for anything awful, anything bad. We had no idea.

Okay, so that’s an extreme example, but that’s what my life feels like right now. I was having dinner with some friends the other night. I don’t remember how the conversation came about but I do remember this: I said with emphasis ansd confidence, “oh, My-friend-of-nearly-25-years would tell me…” and this is what I heard back, shot back across the table, “no, no she wouldn’t.” Wait. What? Why did I assume something like that? Do I know what I’m talking about? Maybe I have no idea.

Then. An affair is being exposed for what it is – low down and dirty. I only know half the party so technically I only know half the story. Turns out I know nothing. I wouldn’t have thought the affair capable of anyone, let alone this someone. Lives are being ruined yet I had no idea.

I interviewed a lovely woman who I thought had potential. Others disagreed. We went another way and when I broke the news, Wonderful Woman turned into Wicked Witch. I feel like I dodged a bullet with that hire. Note to self – can’t handle rejection; has trouble with criticism; can’t control emotions. I had no idea.

The list of No Ideas goes on and on. When did I become such a bad judge of character? When did I lose sight of what I know? I have no idea.

Categories: Confessional, life | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

