Mouthful

My husband has bitten off more than he can chew. Or so he thinks. He has always been a voracious eater – chomping down on life with gusto. This time, however, I think he’s afraid to speak. His mouthful is more than he can manage. While it isn’t official-official I have talked my husband into running his first ‘race’…an 8k in October.

setting out

Selfish back story: For the last two years I have participated in two very different breast cancer walks. Just ‘Cause 60-Mile in May and Rays of Hope in October. RoH has become a disappointment. Instead of becoming more meaningful to me it has gotten mobbed. Last year the crowds were so big we didn’t walk, we shuffled. It felt more like a herd of cattle being corralled. While I realize it’s all about the money I’m more in it for the experience and what I kept thinking last year was, This would be so much better as a run. Separate the ones who soar from the ones who shuffle. Weed out the walkers from the workers. Fly like an eagle, let me soar.
2010 is a new year. RoH have added a RUN. An 8k (= 4.97 miles) run. Sign me up! Hook me up!

How Kisa got involved. I have a neighbor (don’t we all?). I have a neighbor who is the epitome of a runner. She dresses like a runner. She walks like a runner. I’ve even seen her jog like a runner. I suspect she is coming off a pretty nasty injury because I have never seen her really move, but I can tell that she used to…and like all runners down for the count…wants to again. Very badly. Last weekend Kisa and I passed said neighbor walking her dogs. She was dressed for a marathon and…walking. I lamented that it was too bad she couldn’t run, but what was even sadder was that she appears to be the most unfriendly person on our block. “It would be awesome to have someone to run with…” I sniffed. Kisa looked over at me and with all seriousness said, “You have me.”sunshine pink

When I told him about the run he didn’t stop me from including him in my fanatical fairytale. He asked two questions – is it a real race, timed and everything, and…exactly how far is 8k? When gave him the numbers I could see he was having trouble swallowing the information. Bitten off more than he can chew? I don’t think so. But, he certainly has a mouthful!

Categories: Confessional, Just Cause, life, running, Walking | Tags: , , , , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Mouthful

  1. I am sure you guys will both do great! Good luck and start slow. Thanks for sharing this.

  2. sarah

    very cool

  3. Ruby Tues

    He can totally do this! How cool! When is the race? Is it a fundraiser? How can I help!

    You two should watch some not so serious movies for running inspiration. Try “Run Fatboy Run” (I love Simon Pegg) or maybe “Saint Ralph”.

    • YES! We’re running in the Rays of Hope thingy in October! We each have to raise $100 *hint*hint*

      Tonight Kisa attempts running for 10 minutes straight – twice. He’s already called me to tell me how scared he is! LOL

      We’ve seen RunFatBoy -Fun-unn-neey! Have to look up the other one 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

