The Freaks Who Follow Me

In reading Jillian Michaels’ Metabolism book I found a section I have long since known as truth – it’s all about spiritual cleansing. Step one – identify the crap in your life; Step two – eliminate it. Simple and to the point. Jillian actually advises one to evaluate the relationships in his/her life to determine health and potential toxicity. Does a certain friendship or relationship weigh you down, bring more bad than beautiful into your life? If so, it could be making you sick. Okay. That’s a little drastic, but hey – I live by that rule.Live and practice what I preach. Case in point:

A bunch of years ago I took a hatchet to a growing friendship. Cut it down before it could climb over my life. On my side of the fence I was the one doing all the inviting, the listening, the encouraging…with very little in return. Okay. Nothing. I’ll be honest. Being able to take this one-sided, selfish behavior for only so long I decided to cut my losses and end the knowing. It hurt. At the time we had to share space as close as roommates in college. There was no escaping the oppressive silence when we were in residence.

A few years after that I pulled myself out from under a decidedly heavy state of affairs. I had ended up on the wrong side of appropriate which involved more than one person. The simplest way to get back to good was to say goodbye to all of them. As I explained to someone later, “I am a black cloud, standing of the edge of a precipice. There is very little room for someone else’s baggage.” I had to kick them off my ledge before they sent me tumbling. It was for my own sanity.

Having said all that, I think it’s fair to say I am a good judge of live and let die. I know when to walk away and when to run. I can cut losses without killing myself. So. So, why is it that the freaks find me? How is this possible? Twice in one day.

…to be continued.

Categories: Confessional | Tags: , , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “The Freaks Who Follow Me

  1. Ruby Tues

    You, my dear are a bit of a freak magnet. It makes your life a little more spicy, to say the least. πŸ™‚

  2. becelisa

    if you didn’t attract freaks, you wouldn’t have me πŸ™‚

    (i’m referring to my brother. not myself! lol.)

    • You mean I was a freak magnet at 13?! No wonder I’m so good at it (lots of practice!)

  3. Ruby Tues

    She’s a super freak, super freak … she’s super freaky! πŸ™‚

  4. I’d rather be a Brick House! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

