Recipe #12 (sorta)

Ring That Bell Recipe Diary

In truth I really don’t think I can claim to have made recipe #12 yet. In the beginning of this thing I said I wanted to make the recipes as true to the original recipe as possible – that included directions, but most of all, ingredients. If that’s the case, Cabbage Side Dish can’t be called Recipe #12.

Observe:
Instead of red cabbage thinly sliced I used a package of pre-cut “coleslaw” ingredients (which included red cabbage). Instead of Spanish onion I substituted shallots – I had a few lying around without designation. Instead of tart apples I used pears. Garlic was omitted because, for once, I didn’t have any in my kitchen. I didn’t have mace either. Nor vegetable or meat broth (used good old fashioned water instead). The only thing I remained true to was the directions. I followed every direction to the letter.

Taste: Who knows how the original would have turned out. I do know my version was the bomb, and even better the next day. Served warm.

Note of warning: the next day the entire dish takes on a sort of pink hue (from the cabbage, most likely) and while it isn’t all that attractive, it still tastes good!

Categories: Ring That Bell, Sides | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

