Recipe #3

Ring That Bell Recipe Diary

I am mediocre at making pancakes. Not a big fan of eating them either, so maybe that’s my problem. I don’t like putting a lot of effort into something I know I’m not really looking forward to tasting, like strogannoff or chop suey or anything with mayonnaise. But, pumpkin pancakes on a rainy Sunday actually sounded really, really good. I love everything about October and the deluge of all things pumpkin is a big part of it. I love how everything becomes maple, pumpkin and spice in the kitchen.

Despite all that love for all things October, Mary’s Pumpkin Pancakes were a mistake this morning. I woke up not feeling great, certainly not in the mood for a big breakfast. As a result I didn’t read the recipe clearly. 1/3 cup canned pumpkin became the entire freakin’ can in my head. Couldn’t understand why the pancakes were so, so, thick and um…moist. Kisa said it was more like pumpkin pie pancakes. But, we ate them just the same.

Observations and taste: because I didn’t make them properly (and I fully admit my mistake) I will have to make them again in order to make any further comments.

Mary suggests Maine maple syrup to accompany the pancakes. I suggest reading the recipe properly.

Edited to add: It has been over 24 hours since the flapjack flop and I just realized something…the leftover pancakes are still in the oven.

Categories: breakfasts, Confessional, Ring That Bell | Tags: , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Recipe #3

  1. Ruby Tues

    New recipe? Pumkin Pie-Cakes 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

