What to Think

I had a dream about infidelity last night. At the time I wasn’t really sure what to think about it. Right before the raccoon visited the back door and the cat started banging around I was lost in a deep slumber, dreaming about two improbable worlds colliding. Not only colliding but somehow connecting to the point of concussion. It was strange, but real. I woke thinking the sanctity of marriage is a lie for some people in my life. I didn’t know what to think about the liars in my life.

I have always said I surround myself with the best people I possibly can. Those who can teach me well. Those who can make me laugh loud. Those who can make me a better person than I was the day before. Five years ago I became wedded to the idea that the man I married would be the one to do all these things and more. No mistakes or false starts. I wasn’t wrong. Last night Kisa prowled the house looking for the beer drinking raccoon. Upon finding my open window he chided me about leaving the treadmill on to boot. He interrupted the cheating and banished the sin. I was relieved to see the dreaming shadows recede. This morning he made me breakfast in bed and handled the police report. I started to know what to think about the cheating.

The dream is someone else’s reality. Two impossible lives coming together for no other reason than selfish lack of restraint. I like the idea of waking to a happy home. I now know what to think.

Categories: Confessional | Tags: , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “What to Think

  1. Ken Kendall

    You are so right. Leave those thoughts to those who are not seeking a happy home.

    I just started a new blog about marriage and how men can better love their wives. I would really appreciate it if you would take a look and give me your comments and feedback.

    http://whatsheneedsfromyou.wordpress.com

    Thanks,

  2. Hi Ken,

    Being married to your best friend is the most amazing thing in the world. Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

