Silent about the Songs

I have seen a fair share of music since late July. Funny thing is, I haven’t blogged about any of it and that’s so unlike me.

First, there was Rebecca’s night at the Iron Horse. I gathered up the usually suspects, with a few special guests, and had a great night out. There were a few moments that were very blog-worthy yet no words came. I could have talked about the phone call that pierced my heart in unexpected ways and the residual anger that lingered. I could have talked about the Wicked Wally and how my husband shared it with three beautiful women, with a gorgeous blond on the side (she just wanted “a bite”). I could have talked about Rebecca’s amazing voice – gorgeous despite the fact she was exhausted and getting sick. You haven’t have known it as she joked around on stage.

Then I went with a friend to see Mr. Billy Bragg. (Love, love, love that man.) That was a great night. This beautiful friend and I had a casual meal of sushi and edamame before the show. We wandered around our old haunts (I, in search of candy) for a few minutes before heading to hear Billy. There were a few moments that were very blog-worthy that night too, yet no words came. I could have talked about the way we made fun of people who scanned their iphones rather than communicate with the people next to them. I could have talked about the way we searched out “the most unlikely Billy fan” and how Ruby gets the grand prize for finding the kid with the mohawk. I could have talked about how I got to hear two of my favorite songs (‘Way Over Yonder in the Minor Key’ and ‘Must I Paint You a Picture’) or how Billy is out to change the fukcing world.

Then I went by myself to see the ever-energetic Avett Brothers (my first time seeing them). I went based on a stranger’s recommendation and surprise of all surprise, had a great time. While not all the boys on stage were actually brothers they were all more than really cute. There were definitely moments that were blog-worth from that night, yet again no words came. I could have talked about the couple in front of me who must have been seeing the Avett Brothers since infancy because they knew each brothers entire life story. I could have talked about the way I was utterly fascinated by, and could not stop staring at, one brother’s belt buckle. My eyes followed it everywhere. I could have talked about the way I felt after the show and how I should contact the stranger and thank her for introducing me to the music, but I could also blog about all the reasons why I didn’t (and won’t).

Sean Rowe came to Massachusetts. Played at one of my favorite venues, the Dreamaway Lodge. If you want hopelessly romantic, go to the Dreamaway Lodge. If you want amazing food, go to the Dreamaway Lodge. If you want funky atmosphere with a touch of BobDylanWasHere, go to the Dreamaway Lodge. If you want intimate music in an up-close and personal setting, go to the Dreamaway Lodge. In other words, just go to the Dreamaway Lodge! When we arrived, a fire was burning outside. Funky lights lit the walkway. Chatter came from the diners as silverware sounded like chimes against china. When we left we had full bellies and Sean Rowe’s amazing voice (and even better lyrics) resounding in our heads. The only mar to the whole night was a conversation behind me on the porch. Other than that, nothing could ruin a perfect night. ‘Old Shoes’ is my new romantic favorite.

Categories: music | Tags: , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

