Send Me Superman (repost)

This is the blog I wrote when I first found out about Noreen’s passing. This (at the time) was all I could express. I am reposting this, along with my tribute blog to help illustrate what walking for Just ‘Cause means to me.

December 17th, 2008
I got the call during the worst moment. I was dealing with a bad attitude. I was trying not to deal out a bad attitude just the same. “She died” was all my mother said. For a moment I couldn’t speak. My mouth gaped open, I nearly dropped the phone, the world slowed down and drained away. Silence. She died. Just like that. Mother, wife, friend, neighbor. Gone. Just like that.

Send me Superman to take away this sorrow. Send me Superman to keep me strong. Send them Superman, too. I think of her kids, her husband, her community and hear their hurt loud and clear. Send them every super hero heart to love them during this trying time.

Categories: Confessional | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

